Learn to Say No

Lately I have found myself overloaded and too busy for my own good. A problem I have always had is being able to say no. I have discovered that trying to be involved in too much does nothing but physically and mentally drain me, while adding excess stress. Stretching yourself too thin can not only cause you stress, but will also wear you out and make you vulnerable to illnesses. You should always remember that you are not responsible for everyone and everything. Choosing to not do something can allow someone else the opportunity to take over for you. Give yourself, and others, a break. 

Image

I recently came across a blog post published by Scott H Young that listed 20 Tips to Survive When You’ve Overloaded Your Schedule. I have found these tips to be very beneficial and often refer to them when I feel stressed and overwhelmed. One tip that I found very helpful is to be excessively top-heavy. This means that when we set our to-do list for the day, we should place the biggest activities in the morning. If you feel like your entire week is going to be overloaded, it suggests that you place the majority of work on Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday. A bottom-heavy schedule will never get done if you are overloaded. By doing this, I have found myself eliminating a lot of stress and being able to look forward to the end of the week/weekend, because I know I have knocked out the hardest, most time-consuming work. 

If you’re like me, and love to be involved with anything and everything, I would highly suggest setting a limit before you overload yourself. Know your limits, and do not be afraid to say no when you know it’s what’s best. Doing this will make you a whole lot less stressed and will help you to appreciate more the things you do choose to do!

Image

One thought on “Learn to Say No

  1. Bethany,
    I can’t tell you how refreshing it is to hear that I’m not the only person who has this problem. I have always been a “Yes-man” who is quick to volunteer. I constantly find myself under enormous pressure and stress trying to do things for other people only to find that I never found time to accomplish what I needed for myself.

    I find this post, along with all of your others, very inspiring. Planning when you’re going to get things done each day seems like it would be something that would be beneficial to my sanity. While the ideal solution would be to learn to say no in the first place, this seems like it would be helpful for the time being.

    When I was on stumble upon recently I found this to be pretty helpful and I feel like you will too. I’m sorry that it’s so obnoxiously long.

    http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/2vStnf/:1F.eUJWIu:Tj!y!H2c/www.positivityblog.com/index.php/2008/04/02/16-things-i-wish-they-had-taught-me-in-school/

    Thanks for the inspiration and I hope all continues to go well!

    Glover Sewell “Quade”

    “You use a glass mirror to see your face, you use works of art to see your soul.” -George Bernard Shaw

Leave a Reply

