If Today Was Your Last Day

Oftentimes, I feel that many of us view each day as a given right, rather than a gift. We are never promised the next day, or even our next breath, but each new day we are fortunate enough to be blessed with, we receive a gift. That wonderful gift is the gift of life. Walter Anderson once said, “Bad things do happen; how I respond to them defines my character and the quality of my life. I can choose to sit in perpetual sadness, immobilized by the gravity of my loss, or I can choose to rise from the pain and treasure the most precious gift I have – life itself.”

what-would-you-do-if-today-was-your-last-day-on-earth

Just as Anderson said, how we respond to bad things that happen defines our character and quality of life. We have two choices. We can either grieve over the sadness and loss, or rise from the pain and treasure the precious gift of life. When I was six years old, my father passed away. I would have never thought the night before he passed, when we was tucking me into bed and giving me a goodnight kiss, that would be the last time I would see him. Even though the pain I felt that next day, and the pain I often feel to this day is not easy to deal with, I stay strong and fight through it, knowing that God is in control and he will never let me down. Even though we don’t quite understand why the lives of others are taken so quickly, we have to remember that God has a plan, and that plan is far greater than any of us could ever imagine. I know that my father does not want me dwelling on his loss, but instead he wants me living my life to the fullest, making the best of each new day I am blessed to receive. I want to encourage you all to live each day as if it’s your last. Be kind to others and live out the Golden Rule. When you’re no longer on this earth, think about how you will want to be remembered. Most importantly, let the ones you love know how much you love them each and every day, because you never know when it will be your last time getting to tell them. Just as Romans 6:23 states, the gift of God is eternal life. When it’s time to be called back home, leave this earth knowing you have lived life to the best of your ability and strive each day to be the very best person you can be!

Leave a Reply

