Don’t Judge a Book by Its Cover

I’m pretty sure that you’ve all heard the saying, “Don’t Judge a Book by Its Cover.” I have never been one to do this, but lately I have realized more than ever why we shouldn’t. I have learned that it is absolutely impossible to make reliable judgments about people or things by considering external appearances alone. The perfect bible verse to relate to this subject is John 7:24.

Image

 I have recently made great friendships with people who are completely different than me. Even though we don’t dress alike, act alike, or look anything alike, it’s how different we are that makes our friendship so unique. While at Troy, the most special friendship I have made has been with an international student from China. As a freshman, I heard about the conversation partners program and was interested, but a little worried that it might not be for me. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to communicate well enough with who I was paired with. I decided to join the program, and knew right away that it was the best decision for me! I was paired with Tianxiang Yu (Terry). The first day we met, he didn’t even know how to pronounce the word “girl.” We ended up meeting up together at least once a week for the next two years and became very best friends. I taught him so much about our American culture, and he taught me a little about his in China. I am so glad that I decided not to “judge a book by its cover,” but instead step out of my comfort zone and interact with those completely different than me.

Image

Above: Terry and I have many pictures together, but this one from our freshman year studying together in the library is definitely one of my favorites!

I would like to encourage you all to step out of your comfort zone and get to know others that are nothing like you. I can honestly tell you that it’s something you won’t regret, and you’re bound to make special, unforgettable friendships!

Leave a Reply

