Face Your Fears!

According to Merriam-Webster, courage is defined as the ability to do something that you know is difficult or dangerous.

courage-1

As we go through life, we are constantly faced with challenges and situations that cause us to feel scared or nervous. Beginning at a young age, we face fears such as being scared of the dark, or being afraid to go to school on the first day. With encouragement from family and friends, we find the confidence to face these fears and overcome them. On our journey to adulthood, we are faced with many fears. At times, we are asked to do things that cause us to feel inadequate or unsure, but facing these fears helps us to gain confidence in ourselves and our abilities. Oftentimes, it would be easier to run from our fears and not challenge ourselves to try new things. Doing this would cause us to miss out on opportunities to better ourselves. As a young child, I had a fear of speaking in public. As I got older and took on leadership roles, I began having to speak in public quite often. At first, I was so nervous and could barely speak without having a shaky voice. However, it was by the encouragement of others that I continued speaking in public until I began to gain confidence and overcome my fear. By overcoming this fear, I now love speaking in public and have chosen to major in broadcast journalism, which will lead to a career involving public speaking. It took great courage to overcome this fear, and I could not be more thankful for where I am today, pursuing a career involving something I was once afraid of.

When I am feeling afraid and discouraged, I often refer to Deuteronomy 31:6 to restore my peace and assure myself that everything is going to be okay. I would like to encourage you all to face your fears, instead of running from them, because you never know where it might take you!

Leave a Reply

