What Motivates You?

I recently came across an article published by Royale Scuderi that has 6 types of motivation explained. The types of motivation explained include incentive, fear, achievement, growth, power, and social. I would have to say that my biggest motivation comes from achievement. According to the article, achievement motivation is also commonly referred to as the drive for competency. We are driven to achieve goals and tackle new challenges. We desire to improve skills and prove our competency both to others and to ourselves. Generally, this feeling of accomplishment and achievement is intrinsic in nature. However, in certain circumstances, motivation for achievement may involve external recognition. We often have a desire or need to receive positive feedback from both our peers and our superiors. This may include anything from an award to a simple pat on the back for a job well done.

motivate

Some of my greatest accomplishments in life started off by being my goals. It was motivation that lead me to accomplish those goals. For example, when I entered high school, I told myself that I would work as hard as I could to try to graduate as valedictorian. Through hard work over the years, and motivation leading me to the accomplishment, it was such an honor to graduate as valedictorian of Elba High School’s class of 2011. Not only was this motivation a drive for competency, but the achievement also involved external recognition, as I was congratulated by my peers and honored in many different ways. I would like to encourage you all to find something/someone that motivates you! It makes all the difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

